Zaphod's Deepest Thought Forum Index
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
Signature update 10

 
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Zaphod's Deepest Thought Forum Index » Signature Data View previous topic
View next topic
Signature update 10
Author Message
zaphod
Site Admin


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 75

Post Signature update 10 Reply with quote
Blocked 2 new blocks of addresses.

209.62.96.0-209.62.127.255 theplanet.com . Bad host or isp, with a penchant for spammers.

94.181.0.0-94.181.255.255 Large chunk of Russian Business Network (cybercrime syndicate). 1000s of spammers in this 65,536 address space with no hostnames registered.

Get back to me if there's problems...

Zap Smile
Fri Dec 05, 2008 8:23 pm View user's profile Send private message
diabolic.bg



Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 30
Location: Bulgaria

Post Reply with quote
Hi, Zap!
I have some comments about signatures:
Quote:
$ax = $ax + (rmatch($hoster,"rima-tde.net","rima-tde.net No habla good behaviour (Spamhaus and SORBS blacklists)"));

$ax = $ax + (iprange($address,"83.63.128.0","83.63.255.255","rima-tde.net No habla good behaviour (Spamhaus and SORBS blacklists)"));

The argument "No habla good behaviour (Spamhaus and SORBS blacklists)" for me is not serious. I know examples when Spamhaus and SORBS make a mistake. The first example - before one year SORBS often blocked my servers IP because I used forum mail system. After all I started my personal real mail server and this was the end of my troubles.
Example two you can see in this topic.
Look at my posts and how MysteryFCM answer me.
Why I tell you all this?
Quote:
@: Sat, 06 Dec 2008 07:42:30 +0200
Host: 184.red-81-41-226.staticip.rima-tde.net
IP: 81.41.226.184
Why blocked: rima-tde.net No habla good behaviour (Spamhaus and SORBS blacklists)
File:
Query: t=303
Referer: http://www.google.bg/search?hl=bg&q=%D0%BA%D0%BD%D0%B8%D0%B3%D0%B8++%D0%B7%D0%B0++%D1%87%D0%B5%D1%82%D0%B5%D0%BD%D0%B5&meta=
Reconstructed URL: http://wasteland-bg.com/phpbb2/topic303.html

When I see Google search link, I see the next - this is Bulgarian who lives in Spain and search online bulgarian books.
My topic 303 is topic for online books. Why I must block this man?
I will comment this two lines. And I think you must increase your criterion for inclusion in signatures. The blocker must block spammers and hackers, not the usual humans.

P.S. In Spain have many Bulgarians in last twenty years and they often visit me.
Excuse me for my frankness. I debate of principle. Very Happy

_________________
Fallout Vault BG | Vault Tec RSS News
Sat Dec 06, 2008 8:04 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
zaphod
Site Admin


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 75

Post Reply with quote
This ISP was the source of several bot attacks on my phpBB forum. Also got a couple of remote include attacks from it. Perhaps I was wrong to block them. I will temporarilly remove the block... Comment out and move to the bottom, but if more crap comes from them, it goes back up and stays. Apparently though, as far as ISPs go, they allow mail-servers without getting approval from the ISP for them. Sure, this is good net neutrality, but this also makes it a botlord haven.

And yes, perhaps the "no habla" bit was over the top, but it was for comic relief, not disgruntlement of anyone. And allowing downstream mail servers without authorization, is IMHO bad behavior. All my ISP asks is that I request to have a mail server. If I do, they unblock port 25. If you leave 25 open, some botlord will set up an open relay on it if he can, and begin spamming out your IP. So the behavior in question is a matter of simply blocking un-annouced mail servers...

alas, mail was not my reason for blocking them anyway, I just confused the issue by mentioning the bad mail behaviour.

Sorry to have upset you,
Zap

P.S. By adding "//" to the beginning of any signature, you essentially turn off the detection. You don't have to accept my blocks in total. They are just what I feel is best to protect myself. Also, you can add your own blocks if you like. If you want one added to my primary list, just drop a note in here about who attacked you, how they attacked you, and what method(s) they used.
Sat Dec 06, 2008 1:18 pm View user's profile Send private message
diabolic.bg



Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 30
Location: Bulgaria

Post Reply with quote
You don't upset me. Don't worry.
As say one bulgarian proverb "each herd have a carrion".
I want to say - in each address space have bad users but they aren't all. For last 3 years I don't have attack from rima-tde.net.
You and I are from the same side of the barricade. Very Happy
Only what I want - we both together to find out the truth.
I again hope you understand me. Very Happy

_________________
Fallout Vault BG | Vault Tec RSS News
Sat Dec 06, 2008 2:00 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
zaphod
Site Admin


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 75

Post Reply with quote
Actually, to my mind, this is more like a herd of carrion (very Vlad Teppes) with one survivor in the middle of it.

As I said, you don't have to accept all my blocks. They are easy to comment out. Smile
Sat Dec 06, 2008 2:24 pm View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Zaphod's Deepest Thought Forum Index » Signature Data All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Vjacheslav Trushkin / Easy Tutorials (Photoshop Tutorials).